The NATIONAL ASSESSMENT AND ACCREDITATION COUNCIL (NAAC) is an autonomous body established by the University Grants Commission (UGC) of India to assess and accredit institutions of higher education in the country. It is an outcome of the recommendations of the National Policy in Education (1986) which laid special emphasis on upholding the quality of higher education in India.. Consequently, the NAAC was established in 1994.


Assessment and Accreditation are broadly used for understanding the “Quality Status” of an institution. In the context of Higher Education, the accreditation status indicates that the particular Higher Educational Institutions (HEI) – a College, a University, or any other recognized Unit therein, meets the standards of quality as set by the Accreditation Agency, in terms of its performance, related to the educational processes and outcomes, covering the curriculum, teaching-learning, evaluation, faculty, research, infrastructure, learning resources, organization, governance, financial well being and student services.

Criteria for Assessment:

NAAC has identified the following seven criteria to serve as the basis of its assessment procedures:

  • Curricular Aspects
  • Teaching-Learning and Evaluation
  • Research, Innovations, and Extension
  • Infrastructure and Learning Resources
  • Student Support and Progression
  • Governance, Leadership, and Management
  • Institutional Values and Best Practices

Assessment Outcomes: 

There are two outcomes of Assessment and Accreditation:

  • Peer Team Report: The qualitative part of the outcome is called Peer Team Report (PTR) which is an objective report prepared by the Team highlighting its evaluative judgments, mostly using precise keywords instead of long sentences.
  • Institutional Grading: The quantitative part of the outcome comprises the criterion-wise quality assessment, resulting in the final Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA), a letter grade, and a performance descriptor. The CGPA and letter grade constitute the certification by the NAAC on institutional accreditation.


CGPALetter GradeStatus
3.51 - 4.00A++Accredited
3.26 - 3.50A+Accredited
3.01 - 3.25AAccredited
2.76 - 3.00B++Accredited
2.51 - 2.75B+Accredited
2.01 - 2.50BAccredited
1.51 - 2.00CAccredited
<=1.50DNot Accredited
WordPress Lightbox Plugin